触摸虚拟按钮的手

实践无接触式 UX

如果您出于安全原因,正在考虑用无接触式或非触式交互取代物理交互界面,那么您需要将一系列事项纳入考虑。在本文中我们将介绍无接触式交互界面设计需要考虑的一些因素。

挑战

在我们的日常生活中,存在着各种各样需要接触的交互界面,从门把手、电梯按钮到 ATM 机。此外,我们的职场中也会有种类繁多的机器或系统,需要多人去触摸屏幕或物理界面,如键盘或按钮。病毒的传播正在成为每一个人的首要顾虑,在这样一个世界里,思考什么才是无接触式交互界面的最佳设计实践很重要。

谁会使用你们的系统?

在开始构建之前,考虑特定问题空间的几个因素很重要。首先,谁会使用您正在构建的系统。它是会被数千人、数百万人使用,还是面向规模较小的人群设计的?

例如,一个无接触式的 ATM 机交互界面可能会被许多人使用。但是,现代 ATM 机依赖于少数几个物理按键来完成基于屏幕对话的许多操作,要用无接触式界面来取代它并不容易。使用语音命令操作 ATM 机并不理想,因为这会造成隐私方面的顾虑。如今,按照法律规定,ATM 机需要能够供视力受损的人使用。他们通过提供耳机接口来解决这个问题,这样,像银行余额这样的数据就可以大声念出,此外,还在物理按键上标示了盲文数字和符号。耳机通过限制由系统向用户传递的信息解决了隐私问题的一个方面,但是如果用语音命令来代替按键的话,用户还是有可能将自己的个人信息泄露给附近的任何人。

一个人正在使用按键区凸起的 ATM 键盘进行交互。

使用 ATM 机键盘进行交互的人显示按键的凸起区域。

这还会引起第二个问题,如果在公共系统中采用手势来控制界面,对于某些残障人士来说可能就变得不可用了。您该如何向视力受损的用户指示输入区域?对于某些用户来说,是否存在一些难以执行的姿势?您的系统是否包含为使用轮椅的人提供的输入区域?

因此,设计无接触系统的首要和最为重要的问题是,用户是谁?

第二个值得思考的问题是肤色。某些传感器类型依赖于特定量的反射光作为触发信号。根据这类系统的指标,遇到肤色较深的人,它们可能会失灵。对于任何会有许多不同用户尝试使用的产品,如果无法确保其能够服务于所有的潜在用户,则意味着该产品本身在某种意义上是失败的。

您想控制的事件数量是多少?

在像电梯这样的案例中,呼叫电梯只需简单地按下按钮。这个功能可以用传感器轻松替代,当有人在传感器区域内挥手即可触发操作。但是,进入电梯内部后,我们该如何控制电梯行驶至哪一层呢?在这个案例中,语音识别系统也许是最佳解决方案,因为输入有限且定义非常清晰。但是在像电梯这样的安全关键型环境中,也要考虑到在紧急情况或火情之下,存在作为后备方案的物理界面也是很有必要的。在安全关键型应用中,边缘使用场景的设计与预期使用场景一样重要。

如果您预期的输入内容广泛且多样化,例如包括用户名和密码,那么您应该考虑更灵活的无接触系统。在之前的一篇博客文章中,我们讨论过手势追踪和手部追踪系统的不同之处。要求提供多种输入模式的界面可能需要采用手部追踪系统,借助它用户可以用手指触摸浮动的虚拟键盘。这里的另一个考虑是,如果您在屏幕上显示图标,但您不希望用户去触摸它们,那么您就需要对系统进行相应的设计。英特尔实感技术在 CES 2015 上进行了一次概念验证演示,展示了一位用户在一副全息的浮动钢琴键盘上演奏,无需触摸屏幕或物理的琴键。它利用了一组镜子和透镜来投影出一副浮动的键盘。 

用户能够理解什么?

如今,触控屏随处可见,但是在它刚刚推出时,用户需要经过训练才能理解它提供的基本交互方式 – 从简单的轻触到捏合缩放,以及拖拽以滚动。成功的秘诀是,如果您希望用户采用一种新的交互方法,那就需要将基本交互操作的数量限制在三种之内。同时教给用户三种以上的操作,可能会让其感到困惑。想一想鼠标,尽管它可以执行许多不同的交互操作,但大多数是通过在屏幕上移动指针和单击左键或右键来实现的。尽管滚轮可以更加轻松地滚动页面,我们仍然可以在不使用滚轮的情况下执行该操作。如果我们在设计一款面向许多用户的无接触系统,那么限制他们为了使用该系统所需要学习的内容,对于系统的舒适度和采用来说至关重要。

数字标牌是一个需要限制手势的良好示例。理想情况下,用户想要做的大多数事情都需要通过两到三个手势来完成。挥手对于滚动或划过菜单/屏幕来说可能非常完美,而且大多数用户会很快就能掌握用竖大拇指或 OK 的姿势来“点击”或确认。现在,像鼠标或触控屏幕这样的基于姿势的当前标准交互方式还不存在,但是借助用户通过社交互动或其他模式已经熟悉使用的姿势,有助于快速直观地进行采用。

交互中的人

采用触控技术的自助数字标牌终端

此外,如果您预期在主用户进行操作的时候,周围还有多个人,那么您该如何区分和识别不同的用户呢?知道谁在操作、谁不在操作,是不是很重要?用户是否需要定义自己的本地环境,并确保自己是该交互区域内唯一的用户呢?在某些情况下,比如电梯按钮案例中,由谁进行交互并不重要。而对于 ATM 机,这一点显然很重要。

规则例外

在需要实现快速采用的系统上限制手势的种类无比重要,但是能够循序渐进地训练用户的用例也值得考虑。在可以接受培训并逐步学习系统的工作环境中,包含的姿势和交互种类可以增加。随着用户成为行家,他们能够处理许多种不同类型的交互操作。但是这里的关键在于,无接触的手势系统可能并不是这类案例的最佳解决方案。

作为任何交互系统的新用户,我们的主要关注点是视觉提示。我们注视着能够提示我们该做什么或触摸什么的东西,语音识别系统除外。键盘就是一个例子。我们刚开始学习打字时,我们会看着按键。渐渐地当我们掌握打字后,就能在不看键盘的情况下打字,而且速度非常快。如果必须看着界面才能使用,那么在我们掌握系统后,就会导致操作速度放慢。如果您正在构建要求复杂交互或最终要求熟练掌握的系统,那么您最好去寻找其他解决方案来保证每个用户的安全。例如,是否存在一种场景,可以让用户使用自己的手机与系统安全地交互呢?在工业机械案例中,通过无线或直接连接的独立键盘或控制界面可能比手势控制系统更具实际意义。

深度作为传感器

如果您准备在手势控制系统中采用深度摄像头作为传感器,那么首先需要考虑的就是您的使用环境。它是否仅仅是一款室内解决方案?如果是这样,具备高分辨率和更长距离的英特尔实感 LiDAR 摄像头 L515 会是理想的设备。

英特尔实感 LiDAR 摄像头 L515

英特尔实感 LiDAR 摄像头 L515

在可能要求室内或室外环境的案例中,我们提供的立体声深度摄像头之一,如英特尔实感深度摄像头 D455,则是适用的解决方案。在超短距室内用例中,英特尔实感深度摄像头 SR305 会是既经济实惠又理想的解决方案。 无论您选择这些设备中的哪一款,这很大程度上都取决于视域的大小以及您希望用户进行交互的区域距离摄像头有多远。一个人距离摄像头越远,视域就越宽,但如果您预期用户将直接站在摄像头前,这一点就不重要了。 

接收最新博文和其他消息。

让我们来讨论一下英特尔实感深度传感摄像头如何增强您的解决方案。

提交此表单,即表示您确认自己已经年满 18 周岁,同意就此业务请求与英特尔分享您的个人信息。您还同意通过电子邮件和电话订阅来随时了解最新英特尔技术和行业趋势。您可以随时取消订阅。英特尔的网站和通讯受隐私声明使用条款的制约。

Skip to content
Hand touching virtual buttons

Hands-on with Touchless UX

If you are thinking of replacing physical interfaces with touch free or touchless ones for safety reasons, there are a number of things to consider. In this post, we will cover some of the design considerations for touchless interfaces.

The challenge

In our daily lives there are many interfaces which require touch, from door handles and elevator buttons to things like ATMs. Additionally, in our workplaces there could be a huge variety of machines or systems that require a number of different people to touch screens or physical interfaces like keyboards or buttons. In a world where virus transmission is becoming a primary concern for everyone, it’s important to consider best practices for designing a touch free interface.

Who will use your system?

Before you start building it is important to consider a few factors about your specific problem space. The first thing to consider is who will be using the system you are building. Is this something that will be accessed by thousands or millions of people over time, or something designed for a smaller group of people?

For example, a touchless ATM interface could be expected to be accessed by large numbers of people. While the modern ATM relies on a limited number of physical buttons that perform a number of tasks based on the on-screen dialog, replacing such a system with a touchless one is not trivial. An ATM that used voice commands would not be ideal, since privacy is a concern here. Today, ATMs are legally required to be accessible to people who are visually impaired. They do this by providing a headphone interface so data such as bank balances can be read aloud, and physical keys with braille numbers and symbols. Headphones solve one side of the privacy problem here by restricting the information that comes from the system to the user, but if the keys were to be replaced by voice commands the user could still potentially disclose personal information to anyone standing nearby.

Someone interacting with an ATM keypad showing the raised areas of keys.

Someone interacting with an ATM keypad showing the raised areas of keys.

This also raises a second issue – if you use a gesture control interface for a public system, it could become inaccessible to some disabled people. How do you signal to a visually impaired user what areas input should occur within? Are there gestures which are difficult to perform for some users? Does the input area for your system cover where someone in a wheelchair can reach?

The first and most important question when designing a touchless system therefore is who are the users?

A second issue to consider on this point is skin color. Some sensor types rely on a certain amount of light being reflected back as a signal. Depending on the parameters of such a system, they can fail to work for people with darker skin. For any product where many different users could attempt to use it, failing to account for all potential users means the product itself could be considered a failure.

How many things do you want to control?

In the case of something like an elevator, the call button for an elevator is one simple button push. This could easily be replaced by a simple sensor that registers when someone waves a hand through the sensor area. Once inside the elevator however, how do we control which floor the elevator goes to? In this case, perhaps a voice recognition system is the best solution, since the inputs are limited and very defined.  In a safety critical environment like an elevator though, having a physical interface as back up in case of emergency or fire would also be something to consider. In safety critical applications, edge case scenarios are as important to design for as the expected usages.

If your expected inputs are wide and varied, such as usernames and passwords a more flexible touch free system should be considered. In an earlier blog post we discussed the difference between gesture tracking and hand tracking systems. An interface which requires a variety of input modalities would likely require a hand tracking system, where the user could touch a floating virtual keyboard with their fingers. Another consideration here is that if you are displaying icons on a screen that you do not expect the user to actually touch, you will need to design the system accordingly. At CES 2015, Intel RealSense Technology displayed a proof of concept demo where a ‘holographic’ floating piano keyboard could be played by a user without touching a screen or physical keys. It used a combination of mirrors and lenses to project a floating keyboard. 

What can the user understand?

Touchscreens are ubiquitous today, but when they were initially launched, users required training to understand the basics of interaction available to them – from simple touch, to pinch for zoom, and touch and drag for scroll. A good rule of thumb to follow when expecting users to adopt a new method of interaction is to limit to three basic interactions or less. Any more than that, taught simultaneously, are likely to confuse a user. Think about a mouse – while it can do many different interactions, most interactions are performed by moving a pointer on a screen and either left or right clicking. While a scroll wheel might make it easier to scroll, we can still perform that action without using a scroll wheel. If we are designing a touch free system for many users, limiting what we require them to learn to use the system is extremely important for comfort and adoption.

Digital signage is a great example of a place where gestures should be limited. Ideally, most of what the user wants to do should be accomplished by two or at most three gestures. A wave might work perfectly for scrolling or moving through menus or screens, and then a thumbs up or OK gesture for a ‘click’ or confirmation is something that most users will grasp very quickly. Today, there’s no current standard for gesture based interaction in the same way that there is for something like a mouse or touchscreen, but leaning on gestures that users are already familiar with either from social interactions or from other modalities will enable quick and intuitive adoption.

Self-service digital signage kiosk

Self-service digital signage kiosk using touch

Additionally, if you expect there to be multiple people perhaps standing near your primary user when they are interacting with it, how will you differentiate and identify different users? Is it important that you know who is acting or not? Is the user going to need to define their local environment and make sure they are the only one within that interaction area? In some cases, for example, the elevator button, it doesn’t matter who the interaction comes from. For an ATM, it very clearly matters.

Exceptions to the rule

While limiting gestures on a system that requires quick adoption is incredibly important, it is worth also considering use cases where users can be trained over time. In a working environment where someone can receive training and learn a system over time, the number of gestures and interactions included can be increased – as a user becomes a power user, they are able to handle many different types of interaction. One key point here though, is that a gesture and touch free based system may still not be the best solution in this case.

As novice users of any interaction system, we primarily focus on visual cues – we look at something to tell us what to do or to touch, with the exception of voice recognition systems. Think about a keyboard as an example. When we first learn to type, we look at the keys. Over time as we gain mastery, we are able to type without ever needing to look at the keys, and do so incredibly quickly. Requiring us to look at an interface to use it slows us down once we have attained mastery in a system. If you are building something that either requires complex interaction or will ultimately require mastery, it may be worthwhile to look for alternate solutions that are per-user for safety. For example, is there a scenario on which someone could use their cellphone to interact with a system safely? In the case of industrial machinery, an individual keyboard or control interface that could be connected either wirelessly or directly might make more sense than a gesture control system.

Depth as the sensor

If you are going to use a depth camera as the sensor in a gesture control system, the first thing to consider is the environment you will be using it in. Is it solely an indoor solution? If so, the Intel RealSense LiDAR Camera L515 might be the perfect device for its high resolution and longer range.

 

Intel RealSense LiDAR Camera L515

Intel RealSense LiDAR Camera L515

 

In the case of something which might require an indoor or outdoor environment, one of the stereo depth cameras we offer, such as the Intel RealSense Depth camera D455 would be the appropriate solution. In the case of very short range indoor use cases, the Intel RealSense Depth Camera SR305 might be both a cost effective and ideal solution. Whichever one of these devices you choose will largely depend on the field of view and distance from camera that you want the user to be able to interact within. The further someone can stand from the camera, the wider the field of view is, but that may not be an important consideration if you are expecting the user to stand directly in front of it. 

to get blog and news updates.

You may also be interested in

Let’s talk about how Intel RealSense depth sensing cameras can enhance your solution.

 

By submitting this form, you are confirming you are an adult 18 years or older and you agree to share your personal information with Intel to use for this business request. You also agree to subscribe to stay connected to the latest Intel technologies and industry trends by email and telephone. You may unsubscribe at any time. Intel’s web sites and communications are subject to our Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.

Scroll To Top

Stay Updated

Keep up to date with Intel® RealSense™ Technology: product updates, upcoming announcements, and events.

By submitting this form, you are confirming you are an adult 18 years or older and you agree to Intel contacting you with marketing-related emails or by telephone. You may unsubscribe at any time. Intel’s web sites and communications are subject to our Privacy Notice and Terms of Use

You are about to leave our website and switch to intel.com.
Click here to proceed

Stay Updated

Keep up to date with Intel® RealSense™ Technology: product updates, upcoming announcements, and events.

By submitting this form, you are confirming you are an adult 18 years or older and you agree to Intel contacting you with marketing-related emails or by telephone. You may unsubscribe at any time. Intel’s web sites and communications are subject to our Privacy Notice and Terms of Use